At LabelLORD we regularly receive allergen-related questions; ‘what is the difference between allergy and intolerance’, ‘how to prevent cross contamination’, ‘what is the difference between lactose and milk protein? We’ll try to answer the latter question as extensively as possible. Keep visiting our website to regularly get answers to more of these questions.
Lactic acid (E270) is a nutritional acid that is often added as a preservative to food or beverages to inhibit the formation of yeast and thereby prolonging the shelf life. It is more or less similar to citric or acetic acid and is produced through various biological processes. Moreover, it is also formed in our own body.
The name often causes confusion, but in reality it has nothing to do with animal milk. Although it can be animal derived, lactic acid used in the food industry is always vegetable based. Lactic acid therefore does not contain lactose. Products with lactic acid can be safely used by people with a milk protein allergy or lactose intolerance, unless milk is also listed as an ingredient on the product label.
Know the difference
It is important to recognize when a product actually contains lactose. If you are avoiding products with both lactose and milk protein for your guest who has a lactose allergy or intolerance, you are unnecessarily limiting his or her choice of foods. Taking account of allergens can be simple as long as you know what to look for. Be sure to keep up your knowledge about allergens so your dishes are safe for everyone to enjoy.